Object: Australia Design Centre celebrates first 50 years
Object: Australian Design Centre is set to celebrate the milestone 50th anniversary this year with a host of events, exhibitions, and offerings in their brand new venue from May.
Announced in December last year, Object has appointed Those Architects as the creative force to lead the design of their new William Street Storefront in Darlinghurst. The new location is supported by an accommodation grant from the City of Sydney.
Established in 1964 as Australia’s first Craft Association the organisation has occupied a number of locations across the city including the Mariners’ Church at the Rocks, Customs House at Circular Quay, and since 2004 the St Margaret’s Chapel building in Surry Hills, originally designed by Ken Woolley in 1958 and adapted by Sam Marshall Architects as a contemporary exhibition space for artists and designers.
In May 2015, Object will move to the City of Sydney’s Creative Hub at 101-110 William Street, Darlinghurst, sharing space with HUB Sydney, Romance was Born and a host of architects, designers and artists-in-residence. “We’re thrilled to round out the tenancy of the building and look forward to partnering with our neighbours and providing exciting new opportunities for our audiences”, Object’s Head of Programs, Claire McCaughan commented.
50 years later, the key objectives of the organisation remain: to promote and showcase Australian design, while deepening Australian audience’s understanding of design. Just how Object does this in their new home might include a few surprises.
To read more on Object’s 50th anniversary year, stay tuned to the Object Eye blog.