Industry Growth Centres

The Minister for Industry and Science, the Hon Ian Macfarlane MP, announced three of the five Chairs of the Industry Growth Centres on the 17 February 2015.

The announced Chairs – Elizabeth Lewis-Gray (METS), Peter Schutz (Food and Agribusiness) and Andrew Stevens (Advanced Manufacturing) – are respected industry leaders with extensive industry expertise and board experience. They will use their expertise to work with business, researchers and government on practical ways to grow these sectors, boost productivity and create jobs.

Working with their sectors, Chairs will lead the process to develop a Growth Centre proposal for the Government’s consideration. Growth Centre proposals will include an outline of suggested activities for the Growth Centre including key activities that the Growth Centres will undertake during its first year of operation. The proposals will also outline the governance arrangements, a sector engagement strategy and suggested key performance indicators.

Chairs will be responsible for working with their sectors on addressing barriers to success in the following areas:

1.            encouraging collaboration and the commercialisation of new products;

2.            enhancing management and improving workforce skills;

3.            identifying opportunities to reduce regulatory burden; and

4.            improving capabilities to engage with international markets and global supply chains.

For more information about the announced Chairs and how you can outline your interest in participating in the development of a Growth Centre proposal please go to www.business.gov.au/IndustryGrowthCentres.

  • Industry Growth Centres